Skirt time!

For years now, I have wanted to make clothes, I’ve bought TONS and tons and tons of fabric but never was brave enough to actually cut the fabric and start working on something. Well I finally got brave the other night, and cut into my fabric. Thanks to the amazing tutorial over at Dana made it, I was finally brave enough to try and make a skirt.

As her directions stated I needed to make a pattern. So I pulled out some foam board that I got from the dollar store and did just that. The foam actually worked out perfectly its strong enough not to rip easily like paper, but it not to heavy.

 20131008-210602.jpg

The length that I wanted to make the skirt, caused me to have to have two pieces of foam, but at a $1 a piece I wasn’t complaining to badly. She has AMAZING instructions on how to get the measurements for your waist. Which without her help I would have messed up horribly. I finished this skirt up (other then the hem on the bottom) a couple of days ago, and I finally got to wear it today!

It was a little bit chilly outside today, and I wasn’t sure how cold it was going to get so I paired my skirt with boots, and leggings. 🙂 

20131008-210452.jpg

20131008-214118.jpg

I talked my husband into taking pictures of me this afternoon, and theses were some of the others he took. Haha

20131008-210508.jpg

20131008-213554.jpg

You should really check out her blog, and try and make your own skirt. If you do, I’d love to see it! If you send it to Maryslittlecreations@ymail.com you may see  your creation on my blog! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

